Print this Article

Assembly, Senate Committee Chairs Named

By Vernon M. Billy - January 16, 2009

On Tuesday, Senate Pro Tempore, Darrell Steinberg (D-Sacramento) announced full committee assignments for the new legislative session.  Following his announcement, on Wednesday, Assembly Speaker Karen Bass (D-LA) announced the new chairs of Assembly committees.

In terms of education policy committees, Assemblywoman Julia Brownley (D-Santa Monica) – who was appointed last fall – will continue as the new chair of the Assembly Education Committee and Senator Gloria Romero (D-LA) will serve as the Senate Education chair. 

Assembly Speaker Bass is expected to announce full committee assignments by the end of the month.  And while legislators will have their committee assignments, the state's budget crisis continues to dominate the activity in the legislature. 

Listed below are the new Assembly committee chairs and vice chairs, and the membership of the Senate committees.


Assembly Committee Chairs

Accountability and Administrative Review

Hector De La Torre, D-South Gate, chair
Audra Strickland, R-Thousand Oaks, vice chair

Aging and Long-Term Care

Bonnie Lowenthal, D-Long Beach, chair
Norma Torres, D-Ontario, vice chair


Cathleen Galgiani, D-Stockton, chair
Tom Berryhill, R-Modesto, vice chair


Kevin De León, D-Los Angeles, chair
Jim Nielsen, R-Gerber, vice chair

Arts, Entertainment, Sports, Tourism and Internet Media

Mike Davis, D-Los Angeles, chair
Jim Silva, R-Huntington Beach, vice chair

Banking and Finance

Pedro Nava, D-Santa Barbara
Ted Gaines, R-Roseville, vice chair


Noreen Evans, D-Santa Rosa,chair
Roger Niello, R-Fair Oaks, vice chair

Business and Professions

Mary Hayashi, D-Hayward, chair
Bill Emmerson, R-Redlands, vice chair


Julia Brownley, D-Santa Monica, chair
Brian Nestande, R-Riverside, vice chair

Elections, Redistricting and Constitutional Amendments

Warren Furutani, D-South Los Angeles, chair
Anthony Adams, R-Hesperia, vice chair

Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials

Wesley Chesbro, D-Eurkea, chair
Jeff Miller, R-Corona, vice chair

Governmental Organization

Curren Price, D-Inglewood, chair
Joel Anderson, R-Alpine, vice chair


Dave Jones, D-Sacramento, chair
Nathan Fletcher, R-San Diego, vice chair

Higher Education

Anthony Portantino, D-La Cañada Flintridge, chair
Connie Conway, R-Tulare, vice chair

Housing and Community Development

Tony Mendoza, D-Norwalk, chair
Diane Harkey, R-Dana Point, vice chair

Human Services

Jim Beall Jr., D-San Jose, chair
Tom Ammiano, D-San Francisco, vice chair


Joe Coto, D-San Jose, chair
Martin Garrick, R-Carlsbad, vice chair

Jobs, Economic Development and the Economy

V. Manuel Pérez, D-Coachella, chair
Dan Logue, R-Linda, vice chair


Mike Feuer, D-Los Angeles, chair
Van Tran, R-Costa Mesa, vice chair

Labor and Employment

Sandré Swanson, D-Alameda, Chair
Bill Berryhill, R-Ceres,Vice Chair

Local Government

Anna Caballero, D-Salinas, Chair
Steve Knight, R-Palmdale, Vice Chair

Natural Resources

Nancy Skinner. D-Berkeley, Chair
Danny Gilmore, R-Hanford, Vice Chair

Public Employees, Retirement and Social Security

Ed Hernandez, D-West Covina, Chair
Paul Fong, D-Mountainview, Vice Chair

Public Safety

Jose Solorio, D-Anaheim, Chair
Curt Hagman, R-Chino Hills, Vice Chair

Revenue and Taxation

Charles Calderon, D-Montebello, Chair
Chuck DeVore, R-Irvine, Vice Chair


Ted Lieu, D-Torrance, Chair
Sam Blakeslee, R-San Luis Obispo, Vice Chair


Mike Eng, D-Monterey Park, Chair
Kevin Jeffries, R-Lake Elsinore, Vice Chair

Utilities and Commerce

Felipe Fuentes, D-Sylmar, Chair
Mike Duvall, R-Yorba Linda, Vice Chair

Veterans Affairs

Mary Salas, D-Chula Vista, Chair
Paul Cook, R-Yucca Valley, Vice Chair

Water, Parks and Wildlife

Jared Huffman, D-San Rafael, Chair
Jean Fuller, R-Bakersfield, Vice Chair

Joint Legislative Audit Committee

Bill Monning, D-Santa Cruz, Chair


Senate Standing Committee Membership


Kehoe (Chair), Cox (Vice Chair), Yee, DeSaulnier, Corbett, Leno, Oropeza, Hancock, Wolk, Runner, Wyland, Walters, Denham

Banking, Finance & Insurance

Calderon (Chair), Runner (Vice Chair), Florez, Kehoe, Lowenthal, Correa, Padilla, Liu, Cox, Harman

Budget & Fiscal Review (39 members plus 1 vacancy)

NOTE:  All Senators will be members of the full Budget Committee.  However, there will be only three voting members on each of five Subcommittees as follows:

Subcommittee #1:  Education

Romero (Chair), Huff, Liu

Subcommittee #2:  Resources, Environmental Protection, Energy & Transportation

Simitian (Chair), Cogdill, Lowenthal

Subcommittee #3:  Health & Human Services, Labor & Veteran's Affairs

Leno (Chair), Alquist, Hollingsworth

Subcommittee #4:  State Administration, General Government & Judicial

DeSaulnier (Chair), Wright, Harman 

Subcommittee #5:  Revenues and the Economy

Ducheny (Chair), Padilla, Dutton

Business, Professions & Economic Development

Negrete McLeod (Chair), Wyland (Vice Chair), Correa, Florez, Corbett, Romero, Yee, Oropeza, Aanestad, Walters  


Romero (Chair), Huff (Vice Chair), Simitian, Alquist, Padilla, Hancock, Liu, Wyland, Maldonado

Elections, Reapportionment & Constitutional Amendments

Hancock (Chair), Walters (Vice Chair), DeSaulnier, Liu, Cogdill

Energy, Utilities and Communications

Padilla (Chair), Benoit (Vice Chair), Calderon, Simitian, Lowenthal, Kehoe, Wright, Corbett, Cox, Strickland

Environmental Quality

Simitian (Chair), Runner (Vice Chair), Hancock, Corbett, Lowenthal, Pavley, Ashburn

Food and Agriculture

Florez (Chair), Maldonado (Vice Chair), Pavley, Hancock, Hollingsworth

Governmental Organization

Wright (Chair), Harman (Vice Chair), Negrete McLeod, Oropeza, Yee, Wiggins, Florez, Romero, Calderon, Padilla, Denham, Wyland, Benoit


Alquist (Chair), Strickland (Vice Chair), Cedillo, Negrete McLeod, Wolk, Pavley, DeSaulnier, Leno, Cox, Maldonado, Aanestad 

Human Services

Liu (Chair), Maldonado (Vice Chair) Yee, Alquist, Hollingsworth 


Corbett (Chair), Harman (Vice Chair), Florez, Leno, Walters 

Labor & Industrial Relations

DeSaulnier (Chair), Wyland (Vice Chair), Leno, Yee, Negrete McLeod, Cogdill

Legislative Ethics

Walters (Chair), Lowenthal (Vice Chair), Corbett 

Local Government

Wiggins (Chair), Cox (Vice Chair), Kehoe, Wolk, Aanestad  

Natural Resources and Water

Pavley (Chair), Hollingsworth (Vice Chair), Kehoe, Wiggins, Leno, Wolk, Simitian, Padilla, Benoit, Cogdill, Huff

Public Employment and Retirement

Correa (Chair), Ashburn (Vice Chair), Negrete McLeod, Wiggins, Padilla, Liu, Benoit

Public Safety

Leno (Chair), Benoit (Vice Chair), Cedillo, Wright, Steinberg, Hancock, Huff

Revenue & Taxation

Wolk (Chair), Walters (Vice Chair), Alquist, Wiggins, Florez, Runner, Ashburn


Steinberg (Chair), Aanestad (Vice Chair), Cedillo, Oropeza, Dutton 

Transportation and Housing

Lowenthal (Chair), Huff (Vice Chair), Oropeza, Pavley, Simitian, Kehoe, Wolk, DeSaulnier, Ashburn, Harman, Dutton

Veterans Affairs

Denham (Chair), Correa (Vice Chair), Wiggins, Negrete McLeod, Cedillo, Wyland, Maldonado

Editor's Note: Vernon Billy is President of Governmental Solutions Group, LLC,a policy consulting and legislative advocacy firm.